WhatsApp is constantly working on improving the platform for its users. The company has been working on a feature that will allow messages to self-destruct, after the receipt has read it. The new feature which will be available to iOS, Android, KaiOS and Web/Desktop is now ready and will soon be introduced.
Announcing this via its official website, the company wrote;
You can send messages that disappear on WhatsApp by enabling disappearing messages. Once enabled, new messages sent in the individual or group chat will disappear after seven days.
The Disappearing Messages (previously called Expiring Messages) will be available to users of the platform in the next update. The first version of the Disappearing Messages allowed users to choose when messages had to expire, but WhatsApp has decided to change the feature: if the user enables Disappearing Messages, all new messages will expire after 7 Days, giving no possibility to customize this interval.
Instead of enabling the disappearing option for each individual message, WhatsApp will have it for the whole chat, that is for all the messages, both for individual and group chats. WhatsApp also made it known that the new feature, won’t affect messages you have previously sent or received in the chat.
How It works
- If a user doesn’t open WhatsApp in the seven day period, the message will disappear. However, the preview of the message might still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp is opened.
- When you reply to a message, the initial message is quoted. If you reply to a disappearing message, the quoted text might remain in the chat after seven days.
- If a disappearing message is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages off, the message won’t disappear in the forwarded chat.
- If a user creates a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing message will be included in the backup. Disappearing messages will be deleted when a user restores from a backup.
While this may be a good feature, the company also recommends that it should be used carefully, and with a trusted individual, because according to WhatsApp;
- Forward or take a screenshot of a disappearing message and save it before it disappears.
- Copy and save content from the disappearing message before it disappears.
- Take a photo of a disappearing message with a camera or other device before it disappears.
Note: By default, media you receive in WhatsApp will be automatically downloaded to your photos. If disappearing messages are turned on, media sent in the chat will disappear, but will be saved on the phone if auto-download is on. You can turn auto-download off in WhatsApp Settings > Data and Storage Usage.